First day back to school after winter break, so I thought that today I would post something school-related. :)

Sneak peek at my English literary analysis on the play It's a Wonderful Life and Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

GEORGE: MC from I.A.W.L
TRIS: MC from Insurgent
George and Tris both think at first that their deaths would make them happy. It isn’t an escape from depression, but an act of selflessness. They find their happiness in others, so in order to be happy, the supposedly best choice is to commit suicide with the intention to make the others happy. But is that a good enough reason to end their lives? Some say riches are the main reason to live, some say power, and some even say 42. In the end though, Tris and George realize that family and friends should be their reason to live, not die. Love is the reason. All one needs is love.
I know, it is a little depressing, but the stories were already like that. Is it too cliche? Are you able to follow along with it, even though it is the very end of the paper?

P.S. Did anyone understand the "42" reference? Lol
1/3/2013 11:29:03 pm

It's good. Not cliche. I've watched It's a Wonderful Life many times and this is the first time I've ever thought very hard about George's near suicide as a gift to others rather than an act of desperation for a life that seems wasted on trivial achievements. So well done.

I admit I didn't get the 42 reference.

Reply
Maeve Power
1/4/2013 06:05:06 am

Thank you!

Reply
1/13/2013 05:34:59 am

re: 42
Why am I thinking of the hitchhiker's guide? Didn't it mention some cosmic number that's supposed to be the answer to everything?

And no, not cliched at all Maeve :)

Reply
Maeve Power
1/13/2013 05:50:41 am

Yes, that's the reference. :)
Thank you!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.